The Sussex Military Camp, also known as Camp Sussex, started in 1885, before its official designation as a military training
centre in 1893. It remained one of Canada's largest military venues until the opening of CFB Gagetown in 1956.
What started as a 253-acre training ground grew as demand for military instruction increased. The generations of soldiers
who trained here have served with distinction in many major Canadian events, including the Northwest Rebellion, as well
It is the home of Canada's oldest mounted regiment, the 8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's)
Regiment, which bears the name of one of Queen Victoria's daughters. The regiment's mascot, a horse named Princess Louise
, is still remembered fondly today. The mare and her offspring are buried in Hampton.
The armoury across Leonard Drive from the park entrance is named after Kings County son Milton Fowler Gregg
. This decorated soldier earned the Victoria Cross for his actions on Sept. 28, 1918 during the Battle of the Canal du Nord
The Camp today
The Town of Sussex took over the park from the Department of National Defence in the 1970s, and the large open area has
since become a popular venue for residents and visitors. Princess Louise Park is now the recreational hub of the town, with
signature events such as the Sussex Flea Market
in August and the Atlantic International Balloon Fiesta
Little physical evidence of the military training remains. The base of a tank hangar next to the Agricultural Museum
of New Brunswick is the last visible structure.
Learn more about Camp Sussex at the Eighth Hussars Memorial Museum in the Sussex train station, Broad Street. The
museum welcomes visitors from June to September and by appointment.
Mailing address: 66 Broad St, Unit 3, Sussex, NB E4E 5S2
Telephone: (506) 433-5226
Don Stiles Museum, Sussex Artists Gallery, Maple Avenue, Sussex
Grace Aiton's The History of Sussex and Vicinity (1967)